Rune Divination Practise

Today I drew Berkana… again. After the other day, I knew that this was pointing toward nurturing and “maternal” parenting – since my eldest son was away at a friend’s place and my wife was at an away match/tournament, I knew this was referring to how I parent my youngest son; just turned 8 years old.

For reasons I’ll not go into right now, I have been irritable, irascible and easily angered of late. Poor kid caught the brunt of this a few times and got properly yelled at in a totally non-berkana way. I realised that I needed to drop the Patriarchal Mode and Laying Down the Law in favour of a softer, more nurturing aspect

See… to me, there are clearly layers to a single rune reading: not only does it tell you what to expect, it also clues you in to what is expected of you… the riddle and the solution are one and the same.

So, we get to the afternoon and I have a massive flip-out over a tech issue he hasn’t even caused and I realise I need to Berkana it up a bit. Since he was watching episodes of The Croods cartoon on Netflix, I ask if he’d like to watch the actual film… I said we could get it if he wanted (yeah, shamefaced overcompensation). Naturally he did, so we got it and put it on the Big TV.

All I can say is that it was a huge Nudge-Wink-Lol… I totally identified with the Caveman Dad, saw the ANGRYME as this cartoon exaggeration… I’m not going to spoil the film, suffice it to say that it was very cathartic. I understand that it’s not impossible to change, just that – right now – it’s gonna take a bit of vigilance.

But, hey… that’s why I’m drawing the runes, no? To put myself at one with the cosmic flow.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

