Rune Divination Practise

The divination practise continues, today’s rune being O – Othila – “inherited land”. Walking the dogs with my wife, they split and went separate ways; I followed one as she stayed with the other pair. Our paths diverged, then drew back together and crossed, describing a perfect Othila on the meadow. This reminded me how the O rune also represents the Va or “sacred enclosure”- defined by a rope or somesuch, the entrance being where the line crosses itself: the person inside the Va must open the way.

Walking the dogs with my wife, they split and went separate ways; I followed the wayward one as she stayed with the other pair. Our paths diverged, then drew back together and crossed, inscribing a perfect Othila into the meadow. This reminded me how the O rune also represents the Va or “sacred enclosure”- defined by a rope or somesuch, the entrance being where the line crosses itself: the person inside the Va must open the perimeter to allow others in. Extrapolating on this theme, I acknowledged that our goldsmithy is also a Va of sorts; every day when we get there, I light incense and make an invocation to Aesir, Vanir and Nornir… Hailing the Ancestors and Allies, blessing all of our descendants. The skills we practise there are hard-won and handed down from the mythic beginnings of metalsmithing – the era of metal as magic.

Obviously, I also associate this rune with our home, which reminded me that I hadn’t checked the most recent council tax bill. I retrieved it from the bottom of a stack of random paperwork and my stomach dropped. For “repeated non-payment” the council had withdrawn my right to pay in instalments and had issued a demand for the full remainder – over £700 – and a warning that they would begin legal proceedings should this payment not be made within seven days… the date of the letter already more than a week ago.

I remembered that my bank card had been victim to a fraudulent attempt to take money from my account, so I’d called the bank to stop the payment and burn the card. I’d been issued with a new one, but clearly hadn’t updated the council tax. *EXPLETIVES*

I hurriedly called the council revenues office and sat listening to muzak for an age, waiting for my call to get to the front of the queue. A very helpful young woman told me that a court summons had been issued and sent that very morning but, since I was making an effort to put things right, she could rescind the summons (although she couldn’t stop the letter) and initiate a new payment schedule… although I would have to pay £69 in legal fees.

I gladly accepted the offer.

So… the runes were bang-on once again. If I hadn’t had the runic reminder, the first I would have known about the whole thing would have been when I received a letter informing me of my day in court… An automatically generated and sent letter which turned up just a couple of days later. I have it as a souvenir of how a random rune saved my bacon.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

