Tlaloc part 3

Well, that was good!

I was working at the studio, when I got a message that a stone repair was ready for collection. It was chucking it down, raining so heavily that on the hundred yards there and back I got completely soaked, even in my coat. Naturally my mind went straight back to Tlaloc. “Hail Tlaloc! Is this what you were telling me?” I asked out loud, “That it’s going to be a wet spring?” The equinox was two days ago, so now would be an appropriate time for a forecast.

I got back to work cleaning up and buffing castings. A couple needed to go out this afternoon to make delivery tomorrow morning. One was already polished and packaged up, but a new order had come in. I chucked that second bangle into the polisher to get half an hour of shining up, and looked out of the window at the downpour.

“Hail Tlaloc!” I said, “I really don’t want to get soaked…” (The post office is a good few minutes’ walk from the studio; that far and back in the rain would suck). “Please can you give me a gap in the rain? Just long enough to get the stuff mailed out and get back here? Thanks!”

Some people would call that a prayer, others might refer to it as “petitioning a deity” or somesuch. The exact terminology matters less than the actual doing, since my praxis lies fairly squarely on this method: Develop a relationship with a deity or spirit (or other mythological character, including-but-not-limited-to giants, elves and dwarves), make sacrifices to that entity, then ask favours of them. Quite often it will be to ameliorate extreme weather, or ensure favourable driving conditions. Or both.

I got back to my filing and buffing, keeping an eye on the time and turning the bangle over after 15 minutes. Another 15 minutes and I’m getting the piece out of the polisher, rinsing it and assembling the gift wrap, when suddenly everything changes.

The rain stops. Suddenly. Not just that, but the cloud breaks and the blue sky shows through. I mean, the whole sky I can see out of the window is cloudless and blue, with the late afternoon sun shining down. I’m grinning as I stick the address label onto the package, thanking Tlaloc as I grab my coat and hit the street. Walking up the hill, I can see over the buildings to the dark grey cloud bank about a mile away, but for me it’s blue skies and sun.

I get to the post office and hand over the parcels. The counter lady comments with a smile that it’s suddenly sunny. I grin and reply that I might even make it back before it starts raining again.

I did.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

